I have realized that the best way for me to be content in this fashion detox is through patterned thinking.  Every time I get frustrated by not being able to buy something (which really has not happened that much)  I simply remind myself of my ability to build the most amazing closet later.  I wish i could report a new revaluation every time I blog, but the truth of the matter is that I am simply sold on sustainable fashion.

My friend (a 30 year old grad student in Canada) has been sending me videos that embody aspects of sustainable fashion and it is giving me the sentimental fuel that I need to go along with the logical side of sustainability.  The first was of older women still rocking their fashionable side (npr).

http://www.npr.org/2013/04/01/174767233/-a-lovely-feeling-celebrating-older-women-with-fabulous-style?utm_source=NPR&utm_medium=facebook&utm_campaign=20130401

The second was about a man who is now 90 years old doing shoe repairs.  It made us both want to spend a considerable amount of money on a great pair of shoes that could be sustained through maintenance rather than getting new shoes (gizmodo).

http://gizmodo.com/5993257/this-short-film-about-shoemaking-will-make-you-want-to-sport-better-footwear?tag=design

These ar the kinds of things about fashion that I am finding that inspire my sustainable closet.  People who have been around the block and still understand the value of clothing.  I never want to lose my appreciation of fashion through cheap garments.  I want to invest and understand the beauty of clothing.

