After I decided to do the Fashion Detox my first thought was, “How in the world am I going to handle my stress without shopping?!” I then decided that I’d need some mental preparation for this 13 week suicide attempt. I started thinking of ways women handle stress without shopping in the time I probably should’ve been studying or doing homework. The list I created of alternate stress relievers doesn’t sound nearly as effective and exciting as the power of shopping.

In fact, they should be classified more as distractions than relievers because all of which don’t solve the anxiety I get from too many tests or a pimple on my forehead. On my list (of distractions) I have things like take a spinning class, adopt a high maintenance dog, or just become a hermit and live in a cave (with WiFi, of course). All are things I’d rather not do, but might have to consider as the weeks roll by. I did however make another list that I’ve enjoyed making A LOT more! It is a detailed checklist of all the things I look forward to purchasing when this death sentence is over. I highly advise you detoxers to consider making one as well because it will give you many well deserved shopping trips to look forward too!

The last thing I reminded myself before officially deciding to do the Fashion Detox was to try something new and challenging. And there’s no better way to find out what a girl’s made of than to tell her she can’t shop, am I right?

