Here I am, three hours left on countdown, rethinking over and over in my head if I have made the right choice to participate in the Fashion Detox study. My shopping addiction makes it hard for me to believe that I would ever be able to accomplish such a task, as dropping shopping just cold turkey. I figured, since I made my parents give up smoking cigarettes and drinking soda, that I could put myself in their position and give something up that I feel like I can’t live a day without.

I routinely go shopping after most of my apparel classes with a classmate or couple of friends. My intentions are to mainly browse and window shop, to gain insight of the direction the fashion industry is going, but I always end up walking out of the store with more than I intended to. I always feel a bit of guilt after making a purchase of something I didn’t really need, but end up making myself feel better by telling myself what a bargain I got. I’m a sucker for bargains..

My hope, throughout the Fashion Detox process, is to gain a healthy mentality of what are needs/wants. There’s no doubt in my mind that the rest of this semester will be a struggle to get through without a little retail therapy, but I also have enough belief in myself that I can make it through it. I hope this results in a lifestyle change, to all of us participating in this study, rather than just grade booster.

“What doesn’t kill us, makes us stronger!”

-misskimberlyg
xo

