Today is the day; let the detox begin!

My first thought about the fashion detox was, I am a broke college student, this will be a piece of cake, I do not even need to spend money in the first place, and this will keep me on track. Well, we will see in a few weeks if it is still a piece of cake.

Of course we are all here because we have a problem, we love to shop! Well, that is the first step to recovery… admitting you have a problem. If I have the money to buy clothing, accessories, or shoes I buy compulsively. I love going to thrift stores or stores like Marshalls. I love the adventure of finding interesting clothing that other people will not have. I also love the artistic side of thrift store shopping; picking up a piece and thinking, what can I do to this to make this stylish? About half of my closet comes from a second hand store. The only thing I spend a lot of money on is shoes. I am a shoe fanatic. I have over 100 pairs of shoes, and yes I have spent the time to count them. My quote in life, “Life’s too short; buy the shoes.”

I think the hardest part about this detox is going to be not accepting clothing from other people. I definitely get my shopping from my Grandma. We go shopping every time I go home for break and any time I go home there are always new clothes laying on my bed (Maybe she should join me in the detox). Thank goodness though I went home this past weekend because there was a red sequin dress lying on my bed that of course I just had to have.

All in all though, I am excited and ready for this challenging detox. Good luck to everyone and may the odds be ever in your favor.

 

 

