Pre-warning:  Blogs seem to be witty, I’m not all that witty.  Virgin blogger here.

With that said, however, I am blogging about a topic that is dear to my heart and a huge hobby of mine….shopping.  Unfortunately, this blog will consist of the absence of shopping (for 13 weeks I might add).  Am I am happy about choosing to do the detox, no.. but I can’t say it won’t be a valuable learning experience.  I’ll save the negatives for later though.  Let’s focus this post on how treyd93 shops.  When it comes down to it I shop for three things and three things only.

1.  To impress others.

2.  To look good

3.  To feel confident

No matter what anyone says, we shop for others approval, and I am not ashamed to admit it.  I may shop cheap (goodwill and clearance bins included)  but I will look put together (and hopefully fashionable) as often as  I can.  I can safely say I hit the Goodwill at least 3 times a week, and I shop expensive at the department stores at least twice a month.  I am also a huge online shopper (American Apparel and Urban Outfitters) being my major two weaknesses.

All-in-all, this experience will not be easy nor welcomed.  I do realize though, that this detoxing program will save me money, give me more time for more important things (if my job and homework can be classified as more important than shopping) and ultimately I hope this experience will allow me to take what I have in my closet and create new looks and outfits that will be equally as a fashionable as something new.  Today is day one, let’s do this!!!

