I would do just about anything in order to receive extra credit points for class. Keeping up with a weekly blog and abstaining from shopping for 13 weeks? No problem! Or at least that’s what I first thought upon agreeing to participate in this detox. However now that the realization of what I’ve actually agreed to do is finally settling in I’m not quite as confident about this detox as I was in the beginning. Unlike most of my fashionista classmates, I’m not an avid shopper. For the past two years I have been forced to become more financially independent. I am now responsible for my rent, school, groceries, prescriptions, and other living expenses. As if that wasn’t enough, within the last year I have accidently acquired two wonderful pets: a Blue Heeler/Husky mix, Pepper, and a gray tabby mix cat, Teemo. I was completely naive as to how expensive owning animals truly is. Although I do make very good money at my waitressing job in Aggieville, I’m not exactly rolling in the dough. Between the food, toys, medications, upkeep, and vet bills, I seem to find most of my money going to my “kids”. And although I have had to drastically reduce my lifestyle and spending habits, I wouldn’t change it for the world. After all of these expenses I don’t usually have money left to burn, so apparel items have become a luxury in my life. As of late, most of my clothes have been coming from my sister or mother (presumably because they feel bad for me due to my empty closet) or on a rare occasion, I will “splurge” on a few sale items. It’s been a rough life haha. Luckily, I have two very fashion savvy roommates who are generous when it comes to sharing clothes. However there are certain instances where new clothing is necessary; special occasions, weddings, dances, etc. This weekend my work offered to get work shirts, which we are required to wear, printed for free. We just had to bring our shirts into them, any shirt we wanted, and they would take care of the rest. It was such a great opportunity, and yet, I refrained from buying any shirts to be made. Instead I dug through my somewhat bare drawers and pulled out whatever shirts I found that would be suitable for such a situation. Although I was a little disheartened watching all of the other girls bring in their brand new shirts I’m trying to stay positive. At least I didn’t have to pay for printing. The main event that caused me to doubt my ability to resist buying new items is the upcoming holiday: Valentine’s day. My boyfriend is planning a big romantic dinner and I had been planning on buying a hot outfit to impress. Maybe even something hot to wear under it. But I have decided to stay true to the assignment. Sigh. This next 13 weeks may prove to be extremely difficult. 

