Throughout this entire experience, I have learned quite a bit about myself and fashion. It was actually a lot easier than I anticipated going through this fashion detox. I had thought that I wasn’t going to be able to finish through the semester without buying anything. One lesson that I learned is that I don’t need to be buy new things all the time. I realized that mixing and matching the clothes that I already have plays an important role in not buying new things. I took out some old items that I haven’t worn too often too and made new outfits from them. I realized that I have so much more than I need and continuing to just buy new things will never truly fulfill anything. Another lesson that I have learned is that working on creative projects help me to stay away from buying new things because I am constantly busy and am involved in making something in the fashion world instead of buying it. This experience has also helped shaped the way in which I design clothes to be more sustainable but still fashionable. I realized that fast fashion is not the right way to go in the apparel industry because we are just driven by money and how much profit can be gained from each season or collection. All these lessons have really helped me realize the bigger picture in fashion. Every time that I shop from now on I think I will ponder about this experience and ask myself if what I am getting is something that I really need and not just want. I want to purchase things now on with a conscious mind and be able to not just spend for the fun of things. Although it will be hard to do this I am going to try my best to continue to save money and not purchase fashion items often. I believe that I will be able to do this and I think that it will continue to help discipline myself in this part of my life.

