“A woman’s dress should be like a barbed-wire fence: serving its purpose without obstructing the view.” -Sophia Loren.

Over break, I have started a novel called, How to be a Hepburn in a Hilton World by Jordan Christy. It is a very interesting book, and since Breakfast at Tiffany’s is one of my favorite movies, I could not wait to begin it. There is one chapter I relate directly to this challenge and dress and identity as a whole. It is titled, “Dress to Impress”. This discusses, whether we like it or not, that we live in a material world where we are judged by our appearances. 

Classy girls want to leave a positive first impression with our appearance.. I began to ask myself, “Why do I buy clothing I do not feel 100% confident in?” We all are guilty of it, buying clothing we feel ‘meh’ about. Why do we buy it? I believe, in my case, it is because I am obsessed with more. I always want more and I think that I can try a new style and grow to like it. I was very incorrect. 

To be confident in the clothing we own, we must feel good about wearing it. When we feel good, we act happier, acting happier and more confident leads to keeping up our good image. It is a wonderful cycle! That is why this challenge is so beneficial. It helps us to focus on the clothing that matters in our closet, the clothing we should donate immediately, and how to be more cautious of our future purchases. I could not have asked for a better time to be apart of this challenge. Not only am I helping my wallet, but I’m helping my confidence. 

 

It’s a win-win if you ask me. 

