This week has yet again proved to bring out my creative side. I went home last weekend for an appointment, and my mom wanted to go shopping, completely forgetting I am still Detoxing. I was going to be home for a full two days, so I suggested we go to a fabric store and pick out some material to make a skirt out of. Instead of her taking over the sewing machine, I wanted her to show me how to sew. I took a sewing class in high school, but that was four years ago; I’m a little rusty with my sewing skills. I picked out a pattern for a basic skirt that had two pockets. I picked out a chevron, cotton fabric and got busy with my sewing. It was a great time to bond with my mom that I hadn’t seen in about a month, as well as gain a new Detox-approved skirt out of it! Even though my hem wasn’t perfectly stitched, or my elastic waist wasn’t exactly the way I wanted it, I now have a skirt I can wear, and when people ask me where I got it from, I can proudly say “I made it myself!”

As far as the rest of my Detoxing has been going, I have surprisingly been making it through quite fine. I think this experience will make me not as addicted to shopping, which is a good thing not only for myself, but also for my wallet. I have learned that less is more, and how buying new clothes only fulfills your wants for a short period of time, then you’re wanting more. I also think it helps that I am not making as much money as I do over the summer, and I am not working retail right now. I do still have desires to go shopping sometimes, especially when my friends are. My friends have actually been great supporters of this Detox. They try not to talk a lot about clothing and shopping in front of me, so I don’t get jealous or feel left out, and they always offer me their clothes to borrow. I am so glad I have great friends who support me through this somewhat challenging time!

