As a fashion student of course I subscribe to major online fashion publications, sign up for emails to get special discounts from stores, follow fashion mags and stores on Twitter, etc. I usually love getting these daily emails reminding me that I can get 30% off sweaters at J.Crew, or how to style the popular fall trends, or the 10 riding boots I just HAVE to have or I won’t survive winter.

However, now that I’ve started detoxing my heart sinks every time my phone buzzes. So much so that I’ve begun avoiding my inbox.

As a fashion student/enthusiast/addict (let’s be honest) I feel that it is my duty to not only stay up to date on the latest trends, but to wear them. I’m like a walking billboard for myself that screams, “Look at me! I’m stylish! Don’t you want to hire me?!” In an industry that’s all about how you look I’m very conscious of how I look, so it’s going to get rough not being able to buy all the latest and greatest.

I haven’t had too tough of a time yet, but I know once fall weather rolls in I’m going to be very tempted to buy new clothes. I’m a big wardrobe updater. I love to purge my closet of the old and make room for new. I’m getting to the point where I know my style and I know what brands and designers I like so if I shop those brands and styles I know I will always be happy with my purchases. But, when I break out the fall clothes there’s a good chance I’ll decide I don’t like a single one of them I’m going to be in a real pickle 😦

 

