It seems easy not to shop at school with all the things I am busy with; however, yesterday on Mizzou’s home game day, I felt it was extremely difficult not to impulse buy. The bookstore on campus just opened up a new section for game day apparel. Apparently the clothing is very “SEC –like” with the many sundresses and such that most Southern girls wear. I heard about the new section this week from some of my friends. On Saturday morning, my friends all wanted to check out the new section we heard so many great things about. It was very hard not to just tag along and buy clothes there. This summer I have pinned so many great outfit ideas for a more dressed up look for the games on my Pinterest boards, so all I wanted to do was go to the bookstore and see if any of the outfit look-a-likes I pinned were there.

 

In the end, I decided to avoid the temptation of shopping by not even going with my friends. It was hard at first because I felt deprived of something I had always loved. I felt like a child on Christmas morning hearing about Santa bringing gifts and then those presents instantly being taken away. Maybe that’s a bit of an exaggeration, but it is extremely hard to see a hobby that I love be taken away from me. I never realized how much I love shopping until this challenge. It all worked out in the end, though, because not many of my friends purchased anything. Also, I ended up pulling together a great game day look thanks to my preparation of shopping for game day outfits this summer.

 

My strategy of avoiding shopping with my friends included me trying on a bunch of options from my closet to see which outfits would look best for game days. Yesterday definitely tested my creativity skills, but I ended up finding some things in my closet that I forgot I even had. Several items even had tags still on them! So far, I felt like I could find cute enough clothes I needed from my own closet. When I was with other people, I still received compliments on my outfits, so I think I did a pretty good job. At first, I felt a little self-conscious around other people but once they complimented me on my outfits, I started to feel confident again. Before this challenge when I wore a recently bought outfit, I would feel pleased with my overall look. I still was proud of my creativity, but I worried people were going to judge me on Saturday if I didn’t have a cute outfit. However, it all worked out and I still felt good with the outfit I created, despite the lack of new clothes I could have bought at the bookstore!

